OUR PHILOSOPHY

Coffee plants growing
Coffee plants growing

We would like to reinstate coffee as a pleasure, as opposed to a means of consumption. Consciousness in all our actions is very important to us. That is why we are moving away from mass consumption and dedicate, on the one hand, a lot of attention to our coffee farmer and his farm in Jamaica - the source of quality.

 

On the other we are creating a special ceremony with our brewing method. In  1- 2 minutes preparation time we are slowing down and creating our coffee ourselves, whilst we gradually add water and are seduced by the flavoursome aroma. Buena thus conveys a piece of loving being here in the moment with every single cup of our coffee. Coffee involves a tremendous amount of manual work, patience and love. That is exactly what we want to convey with Bunao.

View of the distant Blue Mountains
View of the distant Blue Mountains
Mature coffee cherries
Mature coffee cherries
Relaxing with a cup of coffee on the farm
Relaxing with a cup of coffee on the farm

Who are we?

Our Farmer

Unser Kaffeebauer auf seiner Farm
Unser Kaffeebauer auf seiner Farm

Whilst the large Blue Mountain coffee factories indiscriminately buy up coffee from, at times, conventional, dunging coffee farmers in the area, our small farmer has been dedicated to his small farm for years and farms it unconventionally with natural organic fertilizer. He can be seen as a rarity among the rarities: an independent 100% sustainable producing small farmer, a lone wolf, who lives according to his ideals, and who is a great inspiration for many people, including ourselves. He takes meticulous care that monocultures do not occur and plants a lot of fruit trees between the coffee bushes. After a lot of work his farm was licensed as a Jamaican Blue Mountain Coffee Farm in 2013. A milestone, as since this point it has been possible to enjoy his coffee in other countries too.

We met him on his farm, high up in the mountains, and asked him a few questions: 

 

 

How long have you been a coffee farmer? What motivated you to become a farmer?

I have been a coffee farmer for over 26 years, but had already grown up on a farm as a coffee farmer`s son. I made a conscious decision to live a as farmer, as it provides me with the possibility to truly support myself and my family, which gives me confidence. The motivation resulted from the inspiration, as farming is hard work. And when one works hard the income is good. 

 

How large is your family?

I have six children. They are all familiar with and involved in the work on the farm.

 

How many people work on your farm?

About 40 help on the farm. Not always all of them at the same time. But at the main harvesting time there are 40.

 

 

What does Rastafari mean to you? And how much or to what extent does it influence your coffee?

Rastafari is a life culture, my way of life, my life path that brings me back to Africa to our roots. It helps me to see the earth from a different perspective and to honor it. It brings balance. That has a good influence on me, my life and my environment and helps me to make the best of myself and to shape my life. This brings good results to the fore especially in agriculture.

Is it true that you have given all your shoes away and that you go barefoot everywhere?

Well, I was born barefoot and, also, grew up without shoes, as my parents did not have any money for shoes. Over the years I could afford shoes, but realized that shoes do not belong to me and feel wrong. I, therefore, started to walk barefoot. The ground on my farm is natural anyway.

 

What is the difference between your Jamaica Blue Mountain coffee and other Jamaica Blue Mountain coffees?

The altitude is the reason for the difference. No other farm is found at this altitude. One can taste it "Laughs".

 

Is your farm organic?

I do not use the word "organic". I have always grown coffee and have never used chemical fertilizer or mineral nitrogen fertilizer (oxide). I only fertilize with natural organic fertilizer.

 

What can we expect from you in the future?

Many good things are coming into being. New coffee plants that I have been cultivating for years are gradually producing more coffee. Furthermore, I have recently obtained my own processing machine that separates the cherries from the beans and another that removes the pergament skin from the dried beans. This means I am more independent. In addition, I am looking forward to drinking a fresh cup of coffee on my farm with my holiday guests who come from all parts of the world.  


Dry bed where the coffee is dried
Dry bed where the coffee is dried
Coffee cherries
Coffee cherries

Coffee plant cultivation
Coffee plant cultivation
Hand-selection of green beans
Hand-selection of green beans

Our roastery

Café Strauss
Café Strauss

We have developed the optimal roasting profile for our coffee together with our partner Café Strauss in Berlin. Our (hot air) roaster functions on the convection heat transfer principle. This elaborate process prevents roasting due to the coffee bean contacting the heated

iron wall, which is often the case in cylinder roasting machines. The coffee beans in our process are solely moved through 250 °C hot air. The electronic control system supports the production of the roasted coffee and guarantees a consistent quality. We have developed an optimal roasting procedure, thereby, which takes the beans through 8 stages in which the length, the temperature of the air supply and the strength of the air supply vary. The cooling

phase is also of upmost importance.

 

We roast regularly, every two weeks, and first grind the coffee shortly before it is dispatched so that the coffee can be enjoyed as freshly as possible and stay in close touch with our farmer. 


A few words about ourselves

Bunao Team
Robert, our farmer and Alex

We, that is Robert Klemm and Alexander Krannich, got to know each other on the farm in 2011 and have been following the same path together since then. The way in which Jah B lives and how his way of life flows into his coffee was immediately fascinating. When at the end of 2013 we were finally able to bring the coffee to us, once Jah B had received his exporter license, which had taken a lot of work, we initially limited ourselves to the green coffee trading and first had a look at the coffee market. We have been working on BUNAO since the beginning of 2016. We visit the farm regularly and stay in close touch with our farmer.

BUNAO

ist ein Produkt der 

K & K Coffee Bean UG (haftungsbeschränkt) 

Mehr über uns

Unsere Philosophie

Kaffeepflanze
Kaffeepflanze am Wachsen

Wir möchten Kaffee wieder als Genuss- anstatt Konsummittel integrieren. Bewusstheit in all unserem Handeln ist uns sehr wichtig. Daher gehen wir weg vom Massenkonsum und widmen einerseits unserem Kaffeebauern und seiner Farm in Jamaica - der Quelle der Qualität - große Aufmerksamkeit.

 

Andererseits erzeugen wir mit unserer Aufbrühmethode eine besondere Zeremonie. In ca. 1-2 Minuten Zubereitungszeit verbringen wir echte Quality-Time mit uns, fahren mal runter und erschaffen unseren Kaffee selbst, währen wir das Wasser nach und nach langsam zugeben und wir vom duftenden Aroma verführt werden. So vermittelt Bunao mit jeder einzelnen Tasse ein bewusstes Hier-im-Moment-Sein. Kaffee bedeutet enorm viel Handarbeit, Geduld und Liebe. Genau das möchte Bunao vermitteln.

Kaffeekirschen
Blick in die Ferne der Blue Mountains
Reife Kaffeekirschen am Baum
Erntereife Kaffeekirschen
Relax mit Rainbow
Entspannung bei einer Tasse Kaffee auf der Farm

wer sind wir?

Unser Farmer

Unser Bunao Kaffeebauer auf seiner Farm
Unser Bunao Kaffeebauer auf seiner Farm

Während in Jamaica die großen Blue Mountain Kaffeefabriken wahllos Kaffee von den teilweise konventionell düngenden umliegenden Kaffeebauern aufkaufen, widmet sich unser Bunao Kleinbauer seit Jahren seiner eigenen Farm und baut diese unkonventionell mit natürlichem organischen Dünger auf. Er ist so etwas wie eine Rarität unter den Raritäten: ein 100% nachhaltig anbauender unabhängiger Bauer, ein Einzelkämpfer, der sehr nach seinen Idealen lebt und der für viele Menschen, so auch für uns, eine große Inspiration ist. Er achtet penibel darauf, dass keine Monokulturen entstehen und pflanzt zwischen den Kaffeesträuchern viel Obstbäume an.

Nach Jahre langer Arbeit wurde ihm 2013 seine Farm als Jamaican Blue Mountain Coffee Farm lizensiert. Ein Meilenstein, denn seitdem können wir seinen Kaffee auch in anderen Ländern genießen.

Hoch oben in den Bergen auf seiner Farm haben wir uns mit ihm getroffen und ihm ein paar Fragen gestellt: 

 


Seit wann bist du Kaffee Farmer? Was motiviert dich Farmer zu sein?

Ich bin Kaffee Farmer seit über 26 Jahren, wuchs aber schon als Sohn eines Kaffee Farmers auf einer Farm auf. Ich habe mich auch ganz bewusst dafür entschieden, als Farmer zu leben, da es für mich die Möglichkeit ist, mich und meine Familien wahrhaftig zu ernähren, das gibt mir Vertrauen. Die Motivation kam durch die Inspiration, denn Landwirtschaft ist harte Arbeit. Und wenn man hart arbeitet bekommt man guten Ertrag.

 

Wie groß ist deine Familie?

Ich habe 6 Kinder. Alle sind mit der Arbeit auf der Farm vertraut und involviert.

 

Wieviele Menschen arbeiten auf deiner Farm?

Rund 40 Menschen helfen auf der Farm. Nicht immer alle zur gleichen Zeit. Aber zur Haupterntezeit sind es 40.

 

Was hat Rastafari für eine Bedeutung für dich? Und wie sehr oder inwieweit nimmt es Einfluß auf deinen Kaffee?

Rastafari ist eine Lebenskultur, mein Lebensentwurf, mein Lebensweg der mich zurück nach Afrika zu unseren Wurzeln bringt. Es hilft mir die Erde aus einer anderen Perspektive zu betrachten und zu ehren. Es bringt Balance. Das hat einen guten Einfluss auf mich, mein Leben und meine Umwelt und hilft mir das Beste aus mir zu holen und meinem Leben zu gestalten. Besonders in der Landwirtschaft bringt dies gute Ergebnisse hervor. 

Stimmt es, dass du all deine Schuhe weggegeben hast und du überall hin barfuß läufst?

Nun, ich wurde barfuß geboren und wuchs auch ohne Schuhe auf, da meine Eltern kein Geld hatten für Schuhe. Während den Jahren konnte ich mir Schuhe leisten, realisierte aber, dass Schuhe nicht zu mir gehören und sich falsch anfühlen. Also fing ich an barfuß zu laufen. Auf meiner Farm ist sowieso nur natürlicher Boden.

 

Worin liegt der Unterschied zwischen deinem Jamaica Blue Mountain Kaffee und anderen Jamaica Blue Mountain Kaffees?

Grund für den Unterschied ist die Höhe der Farm. Keine andere liegt in dieser Höhe. Man kann das auch schmecken. *lacht*

 

Ist deine Farm organic?

Ich benutze nicht das Wort „Organic“. Schon immer baue ich Kaffee an und habe noch nie chemische Dünger oder mineralische Stickstoff-Dünger (Oxide) benutzt. Ich dünge nur mit natürlichen biologischen Düngern.

 

Was können wir von dir in der Zukunft erwarten?

Viele gute Dinge sind am Entstehen. Ich züchte seit Jahren schon neue Kaffeepflanzen, die langsam mehr Kaffee produzieren. Ausserdem habe ich seit kurzem meine eigene Verarbeitungsmaschine, die die Kirschen von den Bohnen trennt und eine weitere, die die Pergamenthaut von der getrockneten Bohne entfernt. Das macht mich also etwas unabhängiger. Außerdem freue ich mich mit meinen Urlaubsgästen aus der ganzen Welt eine frische Tasse auf meiner Farm Kaffee zu Trinken.


Jamaica Farm Kaffee trocknen
Trockenbett zum Trocknen des Kaffees
Kaffeekirschen
Kaffeekirschen

Nursery Jamaica Blue Mountain Kaffee
Kaffeepflanzenzucht
Jamaica Blue Mountain Rohkaffee selektion
Handverlesung der rohen Kaffeebohnen

Unsere Rösterei

Café Strauss
Café Strauss

Mit unserem Partner Café Strauss in Berlin haben wir das optimale Röstprofil für unseren Kaffee entwickelt. Unser (Heißluft-)Röster arbeitet nach dem Prinzip der Konvektionswärmeübertragung.

Dieses aufwendige Verfahren vermeidet die Röstung durch Kontakt der Kaffeebohne mit einer erhitzten Eisenwand, wie es häufig bei Trommelröstmaschinen vorkommt. Die Kaffeebohne wird in unserem Verfahren lediglich durch 250 °C heiße Luft bewegt. Die elektronische Steuerung unterstützt die Herstellung des Röstkaffees und gewährleistet eine gleichbleibende Qualität. Wir haben hier einen optimalen Röstablauf erarbeitet, welcher die Bohnen durch 8 Stufen führen, in denen jeweils Dauer, Zulufttemperatur und Zuluftstärke variieren. Ebenfalls äußerst wichtig ist die Abkühlphase. 

Wir rösten regelmäßig alle 2 Wochen und mahlen den Kaffee erst kurz vor dem Versand, sodass der Kaffee so frisch wie möglich genossen werden kann.


Ein paar Worte über uns

Bunao Team
Robert und Alex mit unserem Farmer

Wir, das sind Robert Klemm und Alexander Krannich, haben uns 2011 auf der Farm kennengelernt und beschreiten seitdem gemeinsam den Weg. Sofort waren wir von der Art und Weise, wie unser Farmer lebt und diese Lebensweise in seinen Kaffee einfließen lässt, fasziniert.  Als wir Ende 2013 mit dem Erhalt der Exporteurlizenz endlich seinen Kaffee zu uns holen konnten, haben wir uns zunächst auf den Rohkaffeehandel beschränkt, um uns erst einmal auf dem Kaffeemarkt umzuschauen. Seit Anfang 2016 arbeiten wir an BUNAO. Wir besuchen regelmäßig die Farm und halten intensiven Kontakt zu unserem Farmer.



BUNAO

ist ein Produkt der 

K & K Coffee Bean UG (haftungsbeschränkt) 

Mehr über uns